Life is Short

10 Dec

Flys

“So how old are you now, Fuli?” Femi asked.
“Fifteen” Fuli answered.
“Fifteen?!?! By your size I thought you were at least 20 days old!” Femi said.
“I get that a lot. Since the family got that new puppy, I´ve been eating a lot” Fuli said proudly.
“Yeah, that little pup leaves meals all over the house! It´s great” Femi said.
Fuli got serious for a moment. “Are you scared?”
“Why would I be?” Femi asked.
“Well, you´ve been around for what, like 28 days? You´re not going to be around much longer. Does that scare you?” Fuli asked.
“You´re too young to be thinking that way. Besides, why be scared of what you cannot control? I look at it this way, I have two glorious days to live. Two days that I get to enjoy the bounty the little dog leaves all over the floor. Two days to see you get even bigger and stronger!” Femi said as a tear rolled down his eye.
“You´re right” said Fuli. “Hmm, what´s that smell? It´s a little sweet…” Fuli began to cough. He felt dizzy. He didn´t notice that his uncle had already fallen to the floor stiff. His world too went black.
As Mandy stood there with the insecticide in her hand she pondered aloud “Why the hell does god put these creatures on Earth anyway?”

4 Responses to “Life is Short”

  1. Bruce Goodman December 10, 2014 at 5:57 pm #

    That was great! I was thoroughly enjoying their little conversation. When Uncle Femi fell to the floor I still suspected old age. Bloody Mandy and her spray! Well done!

    • Ryan December 10, 2014 at 11:16 pm #

      Thanks my friend. I´ve been trying to stay positive but this was just the obvious way to go for some reason. You know I appreciate when you stop by but I´ll say it anyways….thanks man! 🙂

  2. Bree Salyer January 20, 2015 at 8:12 pm #

    I’ve read through quite a few of your stories and I just wanted you to know that I admire your imagination. The main thing I struggle with as a writer isn’t in the writing itself, its the inability to create something original. I deeply envy writers who can take a normal situation and turn it into something thought provoking. You do a magnificent job at that, especially within such a short word count…. they remind me a bit of Aesop’s Fables. 🙂

    • Ryan January 21, 2015 at 11:35 am #

      That is easily the nicest thing I will hear all day! Thank you so much, you made my day. I don´t know if this will help you, but try doing some stream of consciousness exercises. Get a pad and pen or your computer and let go. Do not worry about spelling, punctuation, grammar…or even if you make sense for that matter. It´s an exercise. You will surprise yourself with what you come up with!!! I next to never know where a story is going to go. Some of these stories were born from one interesting sentence I heard on a TV show or in a movie. The last story I wrote came from the thought that I hate to clean my house on Saturday mornings. I had no idea that the character had a “problem”. The story just went there. Try this. If you would like to discuss further shoot me an e-mail. ryanimpink@gmail.com I really do love corresponding with other writers. Have a great day and thanks again for making my day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

