On The Outside Looking In (Pt. 1)

21 Jul

“You’re better off living in the hole looking out to the palace than in the palace looking at the hole”  Karl Pilkington

 

palace

 

Makmood was born with deformed legs. Just beyond the knees were  flipper like flaps of flesh. He joked that we was born too late. If he were born a few hundred thousand years earlier, he´d do well as a water born creature but as a desert dwelling creature, they didn´t help him get around on the sand very well. Makmood made his way through life on the kindness of strangers and his community. He was a beggar. He felt he was fortunate to have meat on the table every night so for him, he had it all.

Sheik Masoud on the other hand was born a perfect physical specimen of a man. He was a natural athlete, a natural scholar and had angular good looks. Growing up in a royal family, he had access to everything, the best schools, the best athletic training, the best health care, etc. Masoud was not born perfect though. His deformation was unseen to the naked eye. It was in his brain. He suffered from crippling depression. He had everything the world had to offer at that moment at his very disposal, yet wanted none of it. At night he would slide his feet, adorned in satin slippers, across the marble floor to the edge of the second story balcony of his palace and look. His eyes were met with tiny flickers of light coming from tiny holes in the rock faced mountainside. He would curse the wretches whom occupied these primitive dwellings before turning the curses onto himself.

*   *   *   *   *

Makmood was hoisted onto an oxcart bound for the town square where he would try to earn his day´s wages by evoking sympathy in passer byers. On the way to town, he saw a man face down in the sand off the side of the road. The man was completely naked and his back was slightly sunburned. The driver had already seen the man and began to slow down.

“What do we have here?” Makmood asked the driver.

“Probably just a drunk who couldn´t find his way home last night” replied the driver.

“Might be” Makmood replied and added “regardless, we´ve got to get him out of the sun. He won´t last long like this”

“Makmood, you´re always trying help people when it is you who needs the help!” the driver said.

“Well, I´ve been blessed so I feel I owe it to the world to do my best to help others less fortunate than myself”

The driver tried to hide his puzzled face for fear it would insult Makmood. How on Earth could this guy think he is blessed? And how could he possibly be of help to others in his condition. He is a beggar. He lives off the generosity of others. He lives in a cave carved out generations ago by primitive people. These thoughts spun around the driver´s head in a circular motion until Makmood uttered “I will need your help helping this gentleman. Certainly I cannot lift him onto the cart myself.

The driver thought quietly to himself “I guess it is easy to offer help when it is not your own back you are offering” as he hoisted the unconscious man unto the cart.

 

*   *   *   *   *

9 Responses to “On The Outside Looking In (Pt. 1)”

  1. lorriebowden July 21, 2014 at 8:24 pm #

    Wow! Speaks volumes. Thanks for visiting me today. I am glad I stopped by here 🙂

    • Ryan July 21, 2014 at 8:26 pm #

      First of all, the pleasure was all mine! I also thank you for taking the time as well. I hope you get something out of my words.

      • lorriebowden July 21, 2014 at 9:03 pm #

        I have a strong feeling that I will! 🙂

  2. Eric Tonningsen July 21, 2014 at 8:41 pm #

    Well done, Ryan. Having read a number of your stories, I kept waiting for the twist. As I neared the end I sensed there would not be one. Much truth to this. Some of us, even blessed with Sheik Masoud-like gifts, choose to live more Makmood-like lives.

    • Ryan July 22, 2014 at 12:44 pm #

      Hello Eric! Good to see you here. This is going to be a multi-part story so there may be a twist. But really, there may not be. This story is completely based on the quote in the beginning with zero intent going into it. Thanks as always my friend!

      • Bonnie Marko July 24, 2014 at 1:26 am #

        Love that quote! Made me lol
        I’m intrigued by this story

      • Ryan July 24, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

        Have you watched An Idiot Abroad, Bonnie? Quietly one of the most genius shows ever made. You can find it on-line easily.

      • Bonnie Marko July 24, 2014 at 3:33 pm #

        I love that show…and the animation one they did…anything with karl!

        I would go so far as to say…if asked what public figure I’d most like to have dinner with…it would be karl. I’d just want to sit across from him and listen to whatever gems he came up with and debate them with him.

Leave a Reply

